Byways 101

Part 1: Program Overview

Learning Objective #3: America's Byways® & Other Byways

Identify the America’s Byways collection and other types of byway programs, such as BLM-Back Country Byways, National Forest Byways, State byways, and Indian tribe byways. Describe how the National Scenic Byways Program supports these byway programs.

What Is The America’s Byways Collection?
Under the National Scenic Byways Program, the U.S. Secretary of Transportation recognizes certain roads as National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads based on their archaeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational and scenic qualities. As of 2012, there are 150 nationally designated byways in 46 States, consisting of 108 National Scenic Byways and 42 All-American Roads. The Federal Highway Administration promotes the collection as America’s Byways or the America’s Byways collection.

What Are Other Byway-Related Programs?
In addition to America’s Byways, several other types of byways are recognized outside of the National Scenic Byways Program. Some of these other byways may also be designated as part of the America’s Byways collection, but not necessarily.

The Federal Highway Administration and its partnerships with the USDA Forest Service, USDI National Park Service, USDI Bureau of Land Management, USDI Fish and Wildlife Service–Refuge Roads Program and States and Indian tribes share a common goal: the recognition and appropriate management of our nation’s most significant roadways.

< Previous | Next >